Thread: tire size options

Country
    United States
    Thanks

tire size options

does anyone know about the widest tire we can mount on the stock 14" alloys? would 185/60/14 fit ok?

click to view fuel log View my fuel log 2014 Mirage es 1.2 manual: 43.7 mpg (US) ... 18.6 km/L ... 5.4 L/100 km ... 52.5 mpg (Imp)

Country
    United States
    Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by btavish View Post
    does anyone know about the widest tire we can mount on the stock 14" alloys? would 185/60/14 fit ok?

I have that on my car and fits perfectly even with a 14x6 wheel

click to view fuel log View my fuel log 2017 Mirage G4 ES CVT 1.2 automatic: 42.0 mpg (US) ... 17.9 km/L ... 5.6 L/100 km ... 50.4 mpg (Imp)

Country
    United States
    Thanks
    The answer is yes they will fit but I don't think it will give you a full 185/60 contact patch (I may be wrong)
    2014 ES F5MBD aka 5MT. I am a full time Uber driver, if you want to drive for uber DO not sign up without my referral code for a bonus .

click to view fuel log View my fuel log 2014 Mirage ES 1.2 manual: 44.8 mpg (US) ... 19.1 km/L ... 5.2 L/100 km ... 53.9 mpg (Imp)

Country
    United States
    Thanks
    Thank you both for your input, I wanted to put wider tires with more grip but wanted to also have a full contact patch. Perhaps h rated 175/65-14 for stock alloys and then 185/60-14 with a wider wheel.

click to view fuel log View my fuel log 2014 Mirage es 1.2 manual: 43.7 mpg (US) ... 18.6 km/L ... 5.4 L/100 km ... 52.5 mpg (Imp)

Country
    United States
    Thanks
    If I may ask a question, why would you want a wider tire?

My thoughts against it is the Mirage can't hold enough weight to warrant a wider tire. Wider tires get less fuel mileage. Surely cant drive like a speed demon and need the extra traction.

Just for looks?

I'm not condemning, just curious.

click to view fuel log View my fuel log 2015 Mirage ES 1.2 automatic: 42.6 mpg (US) ... 18.1 km/L ... 5.5 L/100 km ... 51.1 mpg (Imp)