Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: My sick twisted idea that came to my head today!

Country
    United States
    Thanks

My sick twisted idea that came to my head today!

So I test drove a fiesta and it felt good, I was impressed with the power, but I enjoy my mirages better mpg, looks, interior, super light.... So the idea came to mind... A 1.0 eco boost transplant into a mirage. 130hp, slightly more weight, still good mpg and in a mirage chassis it would be a rocket!

2014 ES F5MBD aka 5MT. I am a full time Uber driver, if you want to drive for uber DO not sign up without my referral code for a bonus .

click to view fuel log View my fuel log 2014 Mirage ES 1.2 manual: 44.8 mpg (US) ... 19.1 km/L ... 5.2 L/100 km ... 53.9 mpg (Imp)

Country
    United States
    Thanks
    Sounds Dangerous....ly FUN! Do it.

click to view fuel log View my fuel log 2015 Mirage DE 1.2 manual: 38.6 mpg (US) ... 16.4 km/L ... 6.1 L/100 km ... 46.4 mpg (Imp)

Country
    United States
    Thanks
    Or just add a turbo on your 1.2 with 5psi and call it a day.

I do like ford's vectoring management tech - if it is installed in the fiesta.

Country
    United States
    Thanks
    I really don't like adding a turbo to a stock engine, there would be engine management required as well as the transmission and drive line that is rated for 74hp. If the Mirage had a beefy transmission it would sound good but I don't think the F5MBD will take much abuse. 5 Psi on a 74hp at the crank engine would only get close to 100-110hp when compared to the ecoboost 10 123hp and 125ft lb torque stock. The ecoboost10 also is a engine that is limited by its 2500lb chassis, I think a Mirage could easily clear 16s 1/4 with a ecoboost 10 and it might even get better mpg with the tall gearing the fiesta transmission has. I really do love this engine! My Mirage wants one! Maybe in 15 years once its proven itself reliable!