Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Starter grinding no warranty coverage

Country
    United States
    Thanks

Starter grinding no warranty coverage

What is the best thing I can do? Was the dealership just replacing starters? Shims? It's getting bad on my mirage. Almost 50% of the starts now are grinds. I found a used starter from a 2015 for $33 shipped off eBay.

2014 ES F5MBD aka 5MT. I am a full time Uber driver, if you want to drive for uber DO not sign up without my referral code for a bonus .

click to view fuel log View my fuel log 2014 Mirage ES 1.2 manual: 44.8 mpg (US) ... 19.1 km/L ... 5.2 L/100 km ... 53.9 mpg (Imp)

Country
    United States
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,566 Times in 1,122 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by alex16 View Post
    What is the best thing I can do? Was the dealership just replacing starters? Shims? It's getting bad on my mirage. Almost 50% of the starts now are grinds. I found a used starter from a 2015 for $33 shipped off eBay.
    There is a TSB for 2014's for starter issues with a warranty fix. Has this been completed on yours?

https://static.nhtsa.gov/odi/tsbs/20...55251-3310.pdf
    Last edited by inuvik; 01-20-2017 at 10:16 PM.

click to view fuel log View my fuel log 2015 Mirage ES 1.2 automatic: 40.5 mpg (US) ... 17.2 km/L ... 5.8 L/100 km ... 48.6 mpg (Imp)

3. The Following User Says Thank You to inuvik For This Useful Post:

Johnny Mullet (01-22-2017)

Country
    United States
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,849 Times in 1,102 Posts
    I'd just replace the worn original starter with the used Ebay starter and call it a day.

5. The Following User Says Thank You to Cobrajet For This Useful Post:

alex16 (01-21-2017)

Country
    United States
    Thanks
    Starter is usually easy to replace. On my car from the bottom sode, you just unbolt it and remove the connectors. I don't think you have to do any special aligning with the sprocket

Business Up Front Johnny Mullet's Avatar
    Country
    United States
    Thanks