Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24

Thread: Has Anyone Installed the Rokford Fosgate Stereo System on their '17?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    USA
    Country
    United States
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 15 Times in 7 Posts

    Has Anyone Installed the Rokford Fosgate Stereo System on their '17?

    I purchased the kit when I bought the car a couple weeks ago (17 Mirage SE) and I got the kit to the house today.

    On the top page of the installation instruction sheets says in all caps:

    IF THIS IS BEING INSTALLED IN A MIRAGE WITH DISPLAY AUDIO WITH SMARTPHONE LINK RADIO HEADUNIT THEN A REFLASH OF AMPLIFIER MUST BE PERFORMED. FAILING TO PERFORM THE REFLASH CAN RESULT IN ISSUES WITH THE SOUND QUALITY THAT COMES FROM THE FACTORY SPEAKERS.

    If anyone has installed this on their '17 (SE or GT) can you comment on sound quality or if it is a real necessity to have the amp reflashed? I know I'm probably going to have to head back to the dealership if the sound is really awful but if anyone has some insight that would be awesome.

    TIA



  2. #2
    Senior Member Top_Fuel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Ohio
    Country
    United States
    Posts
    805
    Thanks
    368
    Thanked 523 Times in 267 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Iggypooper View Post
    I purchased the kit when I bought the car a couple weeks ago...
    There's a kit available to add the Rockford Fosgate upgrade to a factory radio?

        __________________________________________

        click to view fuel log View my fuel log 2015 Mirage ES 1.2 manual: 51.5 mpg (US) ... 21.9 km/L ... 4.6 L/100 km ... 61.9 mpg (Imp)


  3. #3
    Senior Member Cobrajet's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Olympia, WA
    Country
    United States
    Posts
    1,242
    Thanks
    361
    Thanked 630 Times in 379 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Top_Fuel View Post
    There's a kit available to add the Rockford Fosgate upgrade to a factory radio?
    Yes. For all '14-'17 Mirages. It's part number AMG14EAB01.

    http://http://www.ebay.com/itm/ROCKFORD-FOSGATE-PREMIUM-AUDIO-SYSTEM-UPGRADE-FITS-2014-2017-MITSUBISHI-MIRAGE-/291794260514
    Last edited by Cobrajet; 03-12-2017 at 01:29 PM.

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to Cobrajet For This Useful Post:

    Top_Fuel (03-12-2017)

  5. #4
    Senior Member Cobrajet's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Olympia, WA
    Country
    United States
    Posts
    1,242
    Thanks
    361
    Thanked 630 Times in 379 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Iggypooper View Post
    I purchased the kit when I bought the car a couple weeks ago (17 Mirage SE) and I got the kit to the house today.

    On the top page of the installation instruction sheets says in all caps:

    IF THIS IS BEING INSTALLED IN A MIRAGE WITH DISPLAY AUDIO WITH SMARTPHONE LINK RADIO HEADUNIT THEN A REFLASH OF AMPLIFIER MUST BE PERFORMED. FAILING TO PERFORM THE REFLASH CAN RESULT IN ISSUES WITH THE SOUND QUALITY THAT COMES FROM THE FACTORY SPEAKERS.

    If anyone has installed this on their '17 (SE or GT) can you comment on sound quality or if it is a real necessity to have the amp reflashed? I know I'm probably going to have to head back to the dealership if the sound is really awful but if anyone has some insight that would be awesome.

    TIA
    You might be the 'guinea pig' on this one...I am not aware of anyone else who has installed one of these. Please let us know how it goes!

  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    USA
    Country
    United States
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 15 Times in 7 Posts
    Update:

    I installed the factory sub and the amp, the sub is pretty subtle on the bass side which is perfect for what I was looking for.

    I also installed the factory DRLs and found out the ecu needed to be fiddled with to activate the DRLs to turn on.

    Long story short, the gentleman at the dealership got the DRLs to work and told me that there wasn't anything in the computer on his end that he could do to mess with the sub and amp. Everything works as it should anyway so you DO NOT need to take your car to the dealership if you install the sub.

  7. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Iggypooper For This Useful Post:

    Eggman (05-04-2017),Top_Fuel (05-04-2017)

  8. #6
    Senior Member Top_Fuel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Ohio
    Country
    United States
    Posts
    805
    Thanks
    368
    Thanked 523 Times in 267 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Iggypooper View Post
    ...I installed the factory sub and the amp
    ...Everything works as it should
    ...you DO NOT need to take your car to the dealership if you install the sub.
    I'm just curious as to the overall installation process. Is that kit a "plug-n-play" kit using existing wiring harnesses in the car, or was there something involved with supplying external power to the amp? I assume the speaker wire from the amp to the subwoofer needs to be installed as part of the kit?

        __________________________________________

        click to view fuel log View my fuel log 2015 Mirage ES 1.2 manual: 51.5 mpg (US) ... 21.9 km/L ... 4.6 L/100 km ... 61.9 mpg (Imp)


  9. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    USA
    Country
    United States
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 15 Times in 7 Posts
    The kit is plug and play, just like any other accessory you get from Mitsubishi

    The kit includes two harnesses. The first harness is a piggyback harness, so you plug the factory radio harness into the supplied accessory harness, then plug the accessory harness into the back of the radio. Then you run the remaining wires from the accessory harness into the amp.

    The amp mounts right behind the glove box and you're supposed to drill an additional hole to fully secure the amp bracket, but it's tight in there and my drill was too big. The bracket seemed more than secure when mounted to the 2 other mounts that didn't need drilling.

    The second harness goes from the amp down underneath the kick panels along the passenger side to the trunk where the sub is.

    Also I think it's worth noting that the amp has an Ethernet port and another port which I can't remember right now. So it may be possible for the dealership to update/adjust things in the future.
    I believe the same kit works for all mirages, regardless what factory radio you have.

    The harness that piggybacks off the radio and goes to the amp is on the left.
    The harness that goes from the amp to the sub is on the right.
    Name:  sub.jpg
Views: 210
Size:  96.9 KB

  10. The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Iggypooper For This Useful Post:

    Daox (06-16-2017),Eggman (05-05-2017),spork (05-08-2017),Top_Fuel (05-05-2017)

  11. #8
    Moderator Eggman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Ohio ☼
    Country
    United States
    Posts
    3,250
    Thanks
    2,183
    Thanked 788 Times in 588 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Iggypooper View Post
    Also I think it's worth noting that the amp has an Ethernet port
    Thanks for the photo and the description. It's good to see the kit in it's component form before installation.

    However, I would be surprised if it has an Ethernet port. It is my understanding that the connector is typically used for a control of some sort.

    Does anyone have any experience with this?

        __________________________________________

        click to view fuel log View my fuel log 2015 Mirage ES 1.2 manual: 49.8 mpg (US) ... 21.2 km/L ... 4.7 L/100 km ... 59.8 mpg (Imp)


  12. #9
    Senior Member Top_Fuel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Ohio
    Country
    United States
    Posts
    805
    Thanks
    368
    Thanked 523 Times in 267 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Eggman View Post
    ...I would be surprised if it has an Ethernet port.
    ...that the connector is typically used for a control of some sort.
    That's what I was thinking. Several manufacturers use an Ethernet-style cable for remote bass control knobs that interface with a subwoofer amplifier. I've had a JL Audio amp with a remote knob like this and my current Kicker amp has one.

    HERE is a link to a Rockford Fosgate remote bass control control. Wonder if it would work with that amp?!?

    Name:  amp.jpg
Views: 192
Size:  71.8 KB

        __________________________________________

        click to view fuel log View my fuel log 2015 Mirage ES 1.2 manual: 51.5 mpg (US) ... 21.9 km/L ... 4.6 L/100 km ... 61.9 mpg (Imp)


  13. #10
    Moderator Eggman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Ohio ☼
    Country
    United States
    Posts
    3,250
    Thanks
    2,183
    Thanked 788 Times in 588 Posts
    This post has some good photos: Here's some RF stuff

    And Rockford Fosgate has a page on the amplifier, though it is sparse. RF OEM Flex 41


    Last edited by Eggman; 05-05-2017 at 02:17 AM.

        __________________________________________

        click to view fuel log View my fuel log 2015 Mirage ES 1.2 manual: 49.8 mpg (US) ... 21.2 km/L ... 4.7 L/100 km ... 59.8 mpg (Imp)


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •