Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: How Much Could I hook up to the Cigarette Lighter Socket?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Canada
    Country
    Canada
    Posts
    146
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 21 Times in 16 Posts

    How Much Could I hook up to the Cigarette Lighter Socket?

    Hello!

    I was thinking of maybe adding some LED lights and a dashcam to my car using the cigarette lighter, but I already use a phone charger from there.

    I understand the socket handles 15 amps, but would it be okay to run all that kit from that one socket?

    If anyone has some suggestions or advice, let me know. Thanks!



  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Canada
    Country
    Canada
    Posts
    146
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 21 Times in 16 Posts
    side note:

    Is the USB socket powered? Does anyone use that to run anything?

    I remember trying and concluding it wasn't enough for my phone

  3. #3
    Moderator Eggman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Ohio ☼
    Country
    United States
    Posts
    2,318
    Thanks
    1,661
    Thanked 557 Times in 406 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Spadesheart View Post
    Hello!

    I was thinking of maybe adding some LED lights and a dashcam to my car using the cigarette lighter, but I already use a phone charger from there.

    I understand the socket handles 15 amps, but would it be okay to run all that kit from that one socket?

    If anyone has some suggestions or advice, let me know. Thanks!
    Your electrical load can be added up to see if it will exceed the circuit's capacity. What devices did you have in mind and what is their current draw? Any links?

    Quote Originally Posted by Spadesheart View Post
    side note:

    Is the USB socket powered? Does anyone use that to run anything?

    I remember trying and concluding it wasn't enough for my phone
    The USB specification calls for power at the port. I recall my phone started charging when I plugged it in.

    I recall another forum member added a USB port to one of the unused switch locations on the center console.

        __________________________________________

        click to view fuel log View my fuel log 2015 Mirage ES 1.2 manual: 48.8 mpg (US) ... 20.7 km/L ... 4.8 L/100 km ... 58.6 mpg (Imp)


  4. #4
    Moderator Eggman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Ohio ☼
    Country
    United States
    Posts
    2,318
    Thanks
    1,661
    Thanked 557 Times in 406 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Spadesheart View Post
    Hello!

    I was thinking of maybe adding some LED lights and a dashcam to my car using the cigarette lighter, but I already use a phone charger from there.

    I understand the socket handles 15 amps, but would it be okay to run all that kit from that one socket?

    If anyone has some suggestions or advice, let me know. Thanks!
    Your electrical load can be added up to see if it will exceed the circuit's capacity. What devices did you have in mind and what is their current draw? Any links?

    Quote Originally Posted by Spadesheart View Post
    side note:

    Is the USB socket powered? Does anyone use that to run anything?

    I remember trying and concluding it wasn't enough for my phone
    The USB specification calls for power at the port. I recall my phone started charging when I plugged it in.

    I recall another forum member added a USB port to one of the unused switch locations on the center console.

        __________________________________________

        click to view fuel log View my fuel log 2015 Mirage ES 1.2 manual: 48.8 mpg (US) ... 20.7 km/L ... 4.8 L/100 km ... 58.6 mpg (Imp)


  5. #5
    Senior Member Cobrajet's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Olympia, WA
    Country
    United States
    Posts
    992
    Thanks
    249
    Thanked 463 Times in 286 Posts
    I added a separate socket for my dashcam and GPS just so I can keep the original lighter plug for a phone charger and a spotlight charger. That way it is not an issue.

    It's pretty easy to do, and there is a thread about it here someplace.

  6. #6
    Junior Member Machiblue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Chicago
    Country
    United States
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 12 Times in 9 Posts
    The USB port in the glove compartment powers my dash cam. It allowed for a clean install of the power cable as well. Ran it under the headliner, under the a pillar trim and then into the glove box.



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •