Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Enjoying my new Head Unit

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Texas
    Country
    United States
    Posts
    40
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 14 Times in 9 Posts

    Enjoying my new Head Unit

    I recently installed a new radio, which is basically a 7" Android tablet with radio functions. It does WiFi, will use a 4G adapter for mobile internet, and in all other ways will run virtually any app from the play store. I installed Torque Pro which I have had for year on my phone, but only used it to check any trouble codes on my car. I've sat down and configured the dashboard for the Mirage, and am really having fun playing with this. Torque will monitor and display any information your ECU processes. I built my dash to give mostly fuel economy readings. I've attached some pictures of how it looks on the stereo. I'm still playing but this is a good start. Any suggestions on other functions that would be useful to monitor from a fuel economy stand point?

    Name:  20170503_080824.jpg
Views: 262
Size:  92.3 KB

    Name:  20170503_072007.jpg
Views: 258
Size:  82.2 KB



  2. #2
    Administrator Daox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Germantown, WI
    Country
    United States
    Posts
    3,102
    Thanks
    1,210
    Thanked 654 Times in 412 Posts
    Looks great!

        __________________________________________

        click to view fuel log View my fuel log 2015 Mirage ES 1.2 automatic: 49.0 mpg (US) ... 20.8 km/L ... 4.8 L/100 km ... 58.8 mpg (Imp)


  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Texas
    Country
    United States
    Posts
    40
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 14 Times in 9 Posts
    Speakers and maybe a small amp are next. Then I'm done. I'm counting on this car to last me the next 5-7 years!

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Buffalo
    Country
    United States
    Posts
    103
    Thanks
    62
    Thanked 47 Times in 31 Posts
    This is the one thing I don't like about my unit - it's running Windows CE so I can't get torque on there. Just curious, are you still able to listen to music or have navigation going in the background while running torque?

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Texas
    Country
    United States
    Posts
    40
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 14 Times in 9 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by anog View Post
    This is the one thing I don't like about my unit - it's running Windows CE so I can't get torque on there. Just curious, are you still able to listen to music or have navigation going in the background while running torque?
    Of course! I usually have the torque dash up while I'm driving, music plays at the same time. Also for Google maps or Sygic navigation, music will still play and then silence when the nav gives voice guidance!
    Last edited by 2015 Floyd; 05-05-2017 at 04:00 PM.

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to 2015 Floyd For This Useful Post:

    anog (05-05-2017)

  7. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Fl
    Country
    United States
    Posts
    16
    Garage empty: add car
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Nice upgrade. Is it a plug and play?

  8. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Texas
    Country
    United States
    Posts
    40
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 14 Times in 9 Posts
    Basically yes*, you need the Metra wiring adapter for Mitsubishi so your radio will just plug into the car wiring, and the dash faceplate for a 2 DIN receiver. *(If you have steering wheel controls you may need a canbus adapter for them to work with the radio.) I didn't have steering wheel controls so, I just hooked the Metra wiring adapter to the radio and it plugged right in to where the old radio did. Not hard to do at all.

  9. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Fresno, Ca
    Country
    United States
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 14 Times in 8 Posts
    What model is that head unit? It looks like the ATOTO I just purchased.

  10. #9
    Moderator Eggman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Ohio ☼
    Country
    United States
    Posts
    3,016
    Thanks
    2,052
    Thanked 719 Times in 535 Posts
    I wonder if it would be possible to monitor the vehicle speed to adjust the sound volume level?

        __________________________________________

        click to view fuel log View my fuel log 2015 Mirage ES 1.2 manual: 49.3 mpg (US) ... 21.0 km/L ... 4.8 L/100 km ... 59.3 mpg (Imp)


  11. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Texas
    Country
    United States
    Posts
    40
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 14 Times in 9 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Brianm13 View Post
    What model is that head unit? It looks like the ATOTO I just purchased.
    It's an Xtrons TB706APL

    I wonder if it would be possible to monitor the vehicle speed to adjust the sound volume level?
    I have a custom ROM installed on the radio now and since it is rooted there are many things you can do to it. I think there is an Xposed module that will change volume with speed. Note I just saw an app called speed of sound that claims to do it, I have not tried it though.



  12. The Following User Says Thank You to 2015 Floyd For This Useful Post:

    Eggman (06-29-2017)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •