Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Heater core update

Country
    United States
    Garage empty: add car
    Thanks

Heater core update

Warning: The heater cores are faulty on these cars. They use crimp-on clamps that WILL eventually fail. Not even Mitsubishi tech servjce in Cali can figure it out. I've just had mine replaced for the 3rd time in 75k miles. I was advised to trade it before the warranty expired. Lucky I bought the bumper to bumper 100k mile platinum coverage warranty extension. I intend fully to trade before this coverage ends. No more Mitsus for me. And I really liked the car except for this one problem

Country
    United States
    Thanks
    Sounds about right. It's a super cheap car, thankfully this isn't a common issue as of yet with other owners I believe. Sorry for your troubles.
    2014 ES F5MBD aka 5MT. I am a full time Uber driver, if you want to drive for uber DO not sign up without my referral code for a bonus .

click to view fuel log View my fuel log 2014 Mirage ES 1.2 manual: 44.8 mpg (US) ... 19.1 km/L ... 5.2 L/100 km ... 53.9 mpg (Imp)

Country
    United States
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,848 Times in 1,101 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sunsetjim View Post
    Warning: The heater cores are faulty on these cars. They use crimp-on clamps that WILL eventually fail. Not even Mitsubishi tech servjce in Cali can figure it out. I've just had mine replaced for the 3rd time in 75k miles. I was advised to trade it before the warranty expired. Lucky I bought the bumper to bumper 100k mile platinum coverage warranty extension. I intend fully to trade before this coverage ends. No more Mitsus for me. And I really liked the car except for this one problem
    Where are these clamps located, and why does clamp failure require the core to be replaced? I am not understanding.

Are you talking about the clamps on the heater hoses?

Country
    United States
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,848 Times in 1,101 Posts