Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Prepped my new 2014 Mirage

Country
    United States
    Thanks

Prepped my new 2014 Mirage

I bought my new Mirage DE with CVT on 4/4/14

But it came with defects, the car had 9 miles on it but already had swirls in the paint, they said the car was never touched, I said that's impossible ,cars that leave the factory is darn near flawless, it's after it leaves when the problems begin. (I'm a professional detailer and paint corrections. cajundetailingbykevin.com

Anyway......

They asked me if I wanted them to wash The car , I said might as well looks terrible , but only to me, everyone there thought I was crazy, all they continued to say was "The car is brand new", whatever, wash it I must go.

I just had surgery so I worked on it a little each day starting on 4/5/14.
    Took me a few days,I wanted all defects gone and add several coats of protection.

I took a few pictures before I began but I'll only show one being the entire car pretty much looked the same

The paint was rough and IMO didn't shine as it should have so I did the following.

Two bucket wash using Chemical Guys Maxi-Suds
    Using my new Handy Prep towel I removed all contaminants, defects really showed up. Lol
    The paint however was smooth as you'd want, so on to my test area, the hood.

First I used the Optimum Fine Polish with a white pad and my Porter Cable 7424xp, did nothing, moved up to the orange pad, again nothing.

Up next Meguiar's 205 Ultra Fine Polish using a white pad, hmmm, looked good, I inspected it in the sunlight and figured this would do the trick.
    I did the entire car, after I was all done there was still areas that had defects, like wth?
    Hard paint come to find out.

Took a day off to rest, the pain was starting to effect my work.

So I thought, I must get it this time so I took my Wolfgang Uber Compound and a white Lake Country Flat 5.5" pad.