Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Anyone change their own oil?

Country
    Canada
    Thanks

Anyone change their own oil?

Does anyone here change their own oil? I've been thinking of doing this myself to save a little money while using a higher grade oil/filter, but I've never done this before. I've watched a few videos online and it seems easy enough Are there any tips, suggestions or concerns about changing your own oil? I'm planning on using ramps instead of jacking the car up. People say that's not as safe, but I don't see it :s

click to view fuel log View my fuel log 2014 Mirage SE 1.2 manual: 52.3 mpg (US) ... 22.2 km/L ... 4.5 L/100 km ... 62.8 mpg (Imp)

Country
    Netherlands
    Thanks
    It's easy to do yourself, I just don't know where to dispose of the old oil

click to view fuel log View my fuel log 2013 Mirage 1.0 manual: 47.5 mpg (US) ... 20.2 km/L ... 5.0 L/100 km ... 57.0 mpg (Imp)

Country
    United States
    Thanks
    I can't see how ramping is any less safe... It may be tricky getting it up (no pun intended) but if the ramps are secured, and the car is secured when on the ramps, everything should be fine. At least that's my opinion.

Country
    United States
    Garage empty: add car
    Thanks
    Yes, I've changed mine a couple of times now. Here are a few forum links about oil & the Mirage that might help:

http://mirageforum.com/forum/showthr...il-Viscosities
    http://mirageforum.com/forum/showthr...er-Part-Number
    http://mirageforum.com/forum/showthread.php/1670-10w-30
    http://mirageforum.com/forum/showthr...rst-Oil-Change
    http://mirageforum.com/forum/showthr...s-there-really
    http://mirageforum.com/forum/showthr...Change-Results

I don't like to use ramps - the plastic and aluminum ones do not inspire confidence in me, and even with steel, it can be difficult to properly align the tires onto them .. and then I'd still have to worry about running past the edge.

Country
    United States
    Thanks