Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Removed my intake snorkel & baffle

Country
    United States
    Thanks

Removed my intake snorkel & baffle

I took it off to experiment with it, engine bay looks better to me and it makes slightly more intake noise.the air is being pulled closer to the engine so it might be slightly warmer but with a mod this simple I doubt it gives any kind of real gain mpg/hp, just easy and make the bay look better to me.

I used a 6 inch extension (a 2"" or deep socket will be fine) and a 10mm socket to remove the one bolt on the valve cover that holds it on.

Name:  image.jpg
Views: 4186
Size:  93.0 KB

Views: 6811
Size:  94.7 KB

Views: 2876
Size:  94.3 KB

2014 ES F5MBD aka 5MT. I am a full time Uber driver, if you want to drive for uber DO not sign up without my referral code for a bonus .

click to view fuel log View my fuel log 2014 Mirage ES 1.2 manual: 44.8 mpg (US) ... 19.1 km/L ... 5.2 L/100 km ... 53.9 mpg (Imp)

2. The Following User Says Thank You to alex16 For This Useful Post:

Daox (03-17-2015)

Country
    United States
    Thanks
    I've thought about doing this a few times. I do like the uncluttered look it gives the engine bay, but as you mentioned I'd be worried about the warmer intake temps. Keep us posted on this mod.

Country
    United States
    Thanks
    I'm actually looking for warmer intake temperatures with the weather changing so much it would be difficult to get a accurate test on how much difference this modification has made.
    2014 ES F5MBD aka 5MT. I am a full time Uber driver, if you want to drive for uber DO not sign up without my referral code for a bonus .

click to view fuel log View my fuel log 2014 Mirage ES 1.2 manual: 44.8 mpg (US) ... 19.1 km/L ... 5.2 L/100 km ... 53.9 mpg (Imp)

What if you made a snorkel that pulled warmer air from right above the exhaust manifold? Plastic would probably not be a good choice of material lol

Country
    United States
    Thanks