Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Micra or Mirage... can't decide

Country
    Canada
    Garage empty: add car
    Thanks

Micra or Mirage... can't decide

I like Mirage 's look better, but Micra seems to have more advantage over Mirage, better reselling value and such..

I test drove both, and I must admit that the Fuel saving on Mirage is amazing, but the noise of the CVT is quite annoying. Performance-wise, both Micra and Mirage are about the same. (i am not very technical, it's based on gut feelings).. but as soon as i hop back on my Yaris, i have the feeling the my Yaris is more powerful...

After a full stop, if i press on the gas a bit harder.. it seems that the Mirage "choked" for half a second, The salesperson explain that this is because of the CVT. is this normal? the car shakes a little too much while on park as well..

I live in Canada with rough winter, which car would be easier to handle?

All my friends tell me not to buy Mitsubishi... but should i worry with 10 years warranty?

Coming from a Yaris 2008 RS owner...

Software Engineer
    Country
    United States
    Thanks
    I got to rent a brand-new 2014 Yaris for 1 week about 2 months before I purchased my Mirage.

I would have to agree on one thing, the Yaris seems to have more power. I'd say maybe 25% more power. It's only 105HP or so, give or take, but the weight to power ratio makes things much much more even.

As to the "choke" the salesman has no idea what's he talking about. That choke is existent on almost ALL ECM cars today that are drive by wire. It's called a safety pause. In the event, you decide to smash you're throttle, the ECM will wait, anywhere from 100-800 MilliSeconds (0.1-0.8 seconds) until it decides to give you that power.