Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Michelin Defender vs General RT43?

Country
    Canada
    Thanks

Michelin Defender vs General RT43?

Hey guys, hows it going? Newbie here. I come from the world of muscle cars. My 2014 mirage is my DD, well more like my all season car lol. Its time to replace the tires, the stockers suck as everyone already know. I am not well versed with all season tires, most of my knowledge starts and ends with extreme summer tires. I have narrowed it down to Michelin Defender and General RT43, both are going to cost me pretty much the same OTD after taking out the $70 michelin rebate. I have heard RT43s have better grip in wet conditions - how do they stack against the defenders? It's going to rain pretty much 5 days a week for next 4-5 months or so, snowing maybe 4-5 times during this period.

What are your thoughts? Pros and cons of each?

Country
    United States
    Thanks
    Thanked 2,826 Times in 2,131 Posts
    Hello 604 guy and welcome to the forum.

Sorry I can't give you any advice on your tire selection as I'm still breaking in my original Enasaves but hopefully someone else can chime in. I know the RT43 is a fairly popular option and Michelin is a well-known brand. I don't think you can go wrong with either.

Some members consider changing to 15" wheels as this opens up more options in tires for not much more money.

Have you considered getting a set of snow tires?

click to view fuel log View my fuel log 2015 Mirage ES 1.2 manual: 49.6 mpg (US) ... 21.1 km/L ... 4.7 L/100 km ... 59.5 mpg (Imp)

Country
    Canada
    Thanks
    Thank you! Michelin is indeed a well known brand, I have been using 285/35/19 Michelin super sports for quite some time now and they have been fantastic! But as you know all seasons are a different animal all together. I have read mixed reviews on the defender (1010tires.com), and yet tire rack praises it quite a bit.