Page 9 of 13 FirstFirst ... 7891011 ... LastLast
Results 81 to 90 of 121

Thread: Two Sets of TPMS Sensors

  1. #81
    Senior Member Cobrajet's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Olympia, WA
    Country
    United States
    Posts
    1,701
    Thanks
    635
    Thanked 934 Times in 558 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BostonJellyBean View Post
    My stock oem tires have tmps . they go back on in the spring. Good enough for me. Unless it's gonna blow up the car?
    I am with you. I tried the ATEQ MitsuReset with no success. Sent it back. I decided that it is stupid to spend hundreds of dollars to make a little light on my dash go out when I regularly check my tire pressure anyway.

    All the light tells me now is that my snow tires are on the car and in the spring it will be time to swap them out.



  2. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Cobrajet For This Useful Post:

    inuvik (01-08-2017),poorman1 (01-08-2017)

  3. #82
    Moderator inuvik's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Coos Bay, OR
    Country
    United States
    Posts
    2,191
    Thanks
    1,769
    Thanked 784 Times in 566 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Cobrajet View Post
    This is from the manual for a US market car? Are some dealers, then, just too stoopid to do this or can we really only hold one set of sensor codes??
    That is from the North America shop manual. So apparently there are dealers that are too stupid to do this correctly. Although ETACS can store two sets of TPMS sensors, only 1 set can be active at any one time. So even if you got both sets "learned", you still have to go into ETACS everytime you switch sets and activate the correct set saved in ETACS. Way simpler to just clone your current TPMS sensors so ETACS thinks nothing has changed.

        __________________________________________

        click to view fuel log View my fuel log 2015 Mirage ES 1.2 automatic: 40.6 mpg (US) ... 17.3 km/L ... 5.8 L/100 km ... 48.7 mpg (Imp)


  4. The Following User Says Thank You to inuvik For This Useful Post:

    Eggman (01-08-2017)

  5. #83
    Senior Member Cobrajet's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Olympia, WA
    Country
    United States
    Posts
    1,701
    Thanks
    635
    Thanked 934 Times in 558 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by inuvik View Post
    That is from the North America shop manual. So apparently there are dealers that are too stupid to do this correctly. Although ETACS can store two sets of TPMS sensors, only 1 set can be active at any one time. So even if you got both sets "learned", you still have to go into ETACS everytime you switch sets and activate the correct set saved in ETACS. Way simpler to just clone your current TPMS sensors so ETACS thinks nothing has changed.
    Pity we can't just do the switch on the MID, like our European friends can do.

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to Cobrajet For This Useful Post:

    Eggman (01-08-2017)

  7. #84
    Moderator inuvik's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Coos Bay, OR
    Country
    United States
    Posts
    2,191
    Thanks
    1,769
    Thanked 784 Times in 566 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Cobrajet View Post
    Pity we can't just do the switch on the MID, like our European friends can do.
    I'll drink to that!

        __________________________________________

        click to view fuel log View my fuel log 2015 Mirage ES 1.2 automatic: 40.6 mpg (US) ... 17.3 km/L ... 5.8 L/100 km ... 48.7 mpg (Imp)


  8. #85
    Moderator Eggman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio ☼
    Country
    United States
    Posts
    4,834
    Thanks
    2,805
    Thanked 1,238 Times in 923 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by inuvik View Post
    From the service manual (relevant section in Bold and Underlined:​)
    RTFM for the win! Thanks for doing this.

    Now we need someone to demonstrate that it can be done.

        __________________________________________

        click to view fuel log View my fuel log 2015 Mirage ES 1.2 manual: 50.1 mpg (US) ... 21.3 km/L ... 4.7 L/100 km ... 60.1 mpg (Imp)


  9. #86
    Moderator Eggman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio ☼
    Country
    United States
    Posts
    4,834
    Thanks
    2,805
    Thanked 1,238 Times in 923 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Cobrajet View Post
    Pity we can't just do the switch on the MID, like our European friends can do.
    And why not? Can this be enabled like outside air temp?

        __________________________________________

        click to view fuel log View my fuel log 2015 Mirage ES 1.2 manual: 50.1 mpg (US) ... 21.3 km/L ... 4.7 L/100 km ... 60.1 mpg (Imp)


  10. #87
    Senior Member Cobrajet's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Olympia, WA
    Country
    United States
    Posts
    1,701
    Thanks
    635
    Thanked 934 Times in 558 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Eggman View Post
    And why not? Can this be enabled like outside air temp?
    We have been told it can't, but we have also been 'definitively' told that the Mirage can only hold one set of sensor codes. So who knows...

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to Cobrajet For This Useful Post:

    Eggman (01-08-2017)

  12. #88
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Minnesota
    Country
    United States
    Posts
    596
    Thanks
    209
    Thanked 166 Times in 117 Posts
    After reading through this thread I will be looking at the light all winter when I put winter tires on.

    Or just have them swapped out 2 times a year on the stock wheels. Most shops probably won't mount tires on steelies without sensors right?

  13. #89
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Country
    Canada
    Posts
    102
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 55 Times in 28 Posts
    Sensors are up to you, I have never heard of a tire shop that cared one way or another, except most will charge extra if they have to deal with TPMS.

    You could open up the dash and either remove the LED/bulb for TPMS or use some black electrical tape. Or you could edit ETACS and disable TPMS entirely (or maybe figure out how to enable their Euro dual TPMS sensors mode and buy another set, your choice!).

        __________________________________________

        click to view fuel log View my fuel log 2015 Mirage ES 1.2 manual: 41.6 mpg (US) ... 17.7 km/L ... 5.6 L/100 km ... 50.0 mpg (Imp)


  14. #90
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Minnesota
    Country
    United States
    Posts
    596
    Thanks
    209
    Thanked 166 Times in 117 Posts
    I might just have winter tires swapped out in fall and spring on the stock wheels.
    Or just buy a set of steel wheels, anyone know what a set costs? Then I can have them done once and swap them in my garage saving money in the long run.

    Will this work well on the mirage? It has a 56.6 bore. 50.00 seems good for a new Wheel?

    https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B01M6...mAL&ref=plSrch


    Last edited by Pryme; 04-03-2017 at 05:31 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •