Page 9 of 12 FirstFirst ... 7891011 ... LastLast
Results 81 to 90 of 112

Thread: Two Sets of TPMS Sensors

  1. #81
    Senior Member Cobrajet's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Olympia, WA
    Country
    United States
    Posts
    1,552
    Thanks
    553
    Thanked 828 Times in 492 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BostonJellyBean View Post
    My stock oem tires have tmps . they go back on in the spring. Good enough for me. Unless it's gonna blow up the car?
    I am with you. I tried the ATEQ MitsuReset with no success. Sent it back. I decided that it is stupid to spend hundreds of dollars to make a little light on my dash go out when I regularly check my tire pressure anyway.

    All the light tells me now is that my snow tires are on the car and in the spring it will be time to swap them out.



  2. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Cobrajet For This Useful Post:

    inuvik (01-08-2017),poorman1 (01-08-2017)

  3. #82
    Moderator inuvik's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Coos Bay, OR
    Country
    United States
    Posts
    2,041
    Thanks
    1,623
    Thanked 705 Times in 509 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Cobrajet View Post
    This is from the manual for a US market car? Are some dealers, then, just too stoopid to do this or can we really only hold one set of sensor codes??
    That is from the North America shop manual. So apparently there are dealers that are too stupid to do this correctly. Although ETACS can store two sets of TPMS sensors, only 1 set can be active at any one time. So even if you got both sets "learned", you still have to go into ETACS everytime you switch sets and activate the correct set saved in ETACS. Way simpler to just clone your current TPMS sensors so ETACS thinks nothing has changed.

        __________________________________________

        click to view fuel log View my fuel log 2015 Mirage ES 1.2 automatic: 40.6 mpg (US) ... 17.2 km/L ... 5.8 L/100 km ... 48.7 mpg (Imp)


  4. The Following User Says Thank You to inuvik For This Useful Post:

    Eggman (01-08-2017)

  5. #83
    Senior Member Cobrajet's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Olympia, WA
    Country
    United States
    Posts
    1,552
    Thanks
    553
    Thanked 828 Times in 492 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by inuvik View Post
    That is from the North America shop manual. So apparently there are dealers that are too stupid to do this correctly. Although ETACS can store two sets of TPMS sensors, only 1 set can be active at any one time. So even if you got both sets "learned", you still have to go into ETACS everytime you switch sets and activate the correct set saved in ETACS. Way simpler to just clone your current TPMS sensors so ETACS thinks nothing has changed.
    Pity we can't just do the switch on the MID, like our European friends can do.

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to Cobrajet For This Useful Post:

    Eggman (01-08-2017)

  7. #84
    Moderator inuvik's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Coos Bay, OR
    Country
    United States
    Posts
    2,041
    Thanks
    1,623
    Thanked 705 Times in 509 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Cobrajet View Post
    Pity we can't just do the switch on the MID, like our European friends can do.
    I'll drink to that!

        __________________________________________

        click to view fuel log View my fuel log 2015 Mirage ES 1.2 automatic: 40.6 mpg (US) ... 17.2 km/L ... 5.8 L/100 km ... 48.7 mpg (Imp)


  8. #85
    Moderator Eggman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio ☼
    Country
    United States
    Posts
    4,413
    Thanks
    2,670
    Thanked 1,132 Times in 839 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by inuvik View Post
    From the service manual (relevant section in Bold and Underlined:​)
    RTFM for the win! Thanks for doing this.

    Now we need someone to demonstrate that it can be done.

        __________________________________________

        click to view fuel log View my fuel log 2015 Mirage ES 1.2 manual: 50.1 mpg (US) ... 21.3 km/L ... 4.7 L/100 km ... 60.2 mpg (Imp)


  9. #86
    Moderator Eggman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio ☼
    Country
    United States
    Posts
    4,413
    Thanks
    2,670
    Thanked 1,132 Times in 839 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Cobrajet View Post
    Pity we can't just do the switch on the MID, like our European friends can do.
    And why not? Can this be enabled like outside air temp?

        __________________________________________

        click to view fuel log View my fuel log 2015 Mirage ES 1.2 manual: 50.1 mpg (US) ... 21.3 km/L ... 4.7 L/100 km ... 60.2 mpg (Imp)


  10. #87
    Senior Member Cobrajet's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Olympia, WA
    Country
    United States
    Posts
    1,552
    Thanks
    553
    Thanked 828 Times in 492 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Eggman View Post
    And why not? Can this be enabled like outside air temp?
    We have been told it can't, but we have also been 'definitively' told that the Mirage can only hold one set of sensor codes. So who knows...

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to Cobrajet For This Useful Post:

    Eggman (01-08-2017)

  12. #88
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Minnesota
    Country
    United States
    Posts
    532
    Thanks
    186
    Thanked 148 Times in 102 Posts
    After reading through this thread I will be looking at the light all winter when I put winter tires on.

    Or just have them swapped out 2 times a year on the stock wheels. Most shops probably won't mount tires on steelies without sensors right?

  13. #89
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Country
    Canada
    Posts
    84
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 38 Times in 22 Posts
    Sensors are up to you, I have never heard of a tire shop that cared one way or another, except most will charge extra if they have to deal with TPMS.

    You could open up the dash and either remove the LED/bulb for TPMS or use some black electrical tape. Or you could edit ETACS and disable TPMS entirely (or maybe figure out how to enable their Euro dual TPMS sensors mode and buy another set, your choice!).

        __________________________________________

        click to view fuel log View my fuel log 2015 Mirage ES 1.2 manual: 41.6 mpg (US) ... 17.7 km/L ... 5.6 L/100 km ... 50.0 mpg (Imp)


  14. #90
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Minnesota
    Country
    United States
    Posts
    532
    Thanks
    186
    Thanked 148 Times in 102 Posts
    I might just have winter tires swapped out in fall and spring on the stock wheels.
    Or just buy a set of steel wheels, anyone know what a set costs? Then I can have them done once and swap them in my garage saving money in the long run.

    Will this work well on the mirage? It has a 56.6 bore. 50.00 seems good for a new Wheel?

    https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B01M6...mAL&ref=plSrch


    Last edited by Pryme; 04-03-2017 at 04:31 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •