Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: CVT @ 7000 miles (review / impressions / thoughts)

Country
    United States
    Thanks

CVT @ 7000 miles (review / impressions / thoughts)

I've been driving for almost 30 years. I taught myself to drive stick shift by watching what my parents did with their feet in relation to the shifter in our new 1989 Suzuki Swift GTi (one of my favorite cars ever). Whenever given the option in life, I've gotten a manual transmission car. Save the manuals! You'll pry the stick shift out of my cold, dead hands. And then suddenly, I was done. Doing delivery and dealing with traffic, I didn't want to shift anymore. And with rentals like Turo, I can go rent some cool manual transmission car and go on a road trip for a day. So what does this have to do with the CVT? Well, I've truly been a die hard manual guy my whole life. So to purposefully pick not only an 'auto' transmission, but a CVT....well that was a huge thing for me. Especially since the manual in the Mirage is so much fun! And I also wanted to have cruise-that was more important that a manual. So I did a short and a long test drive (both in the car I wound up buying) and decided I could live with the CVT. Well, here are my thoughts at just shy of 7000 miles and 2.5 months of ownership/driving.

Doing delivery around the Portland/Vancouver area, I have driven everything from I5 rush hour, to downtown Portland, to scenic Scappose. Smooth roads, windy roads, crazy elevations, hole riddled roads, emergency maneuvers, tight parking, U turns, you name it. And after all of this driving, I'm absolutely smitten with the CVT.