Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Never braked from San Jose to palo alto with 55~65mph and end up with only 42MPG?

Country
    United States
    Garage empty: add car
    Thanks

Never braked from San Jose to palo alto with 55~65mph and end up with only 42MPG?

Hi everyone, I finally decided to register an account and ask questions

I am a uber driver in Bay Area with my 2015 mitsubishi mirage current at 48000mi

I noticed it seems my MPG are lower then everyone else in here, when I doing uber with combined city/freeway ,I got only 32~35MPG

and I tried San Jose to palo alto with 55~65mph with lightfoot and no never braked ,but it endup with only 42mpg, I also noticed if I go 70~75mpg, it will drop MPG to as low as 35, very sensitive
    to wind resistance

it seems so low to me, I saw post in here people could reach ~50mpg in this situation

I am trying to find out whats the cause of this , I feel I lose some MPG after replaced my tire from original to federal 165/65r14, could that be reason?

Thanks

Country
    United States
    Thanks
    Thanked 2,537 Times in 1,471 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Fozziekyu View Post
    ...I feel I lose some MPG after replaced my tire from original to federal 165/65r14, could that be reason?
    The different tires could be part of the explanation.

Nothing has less rolling resistance than a worn out Low Rolling Resistance (LRR) tire. So at the point your original tires needed to be replaced, they were actually producing the least amount of rolling resistance...and the highest fuel mileage.

Even if you replaced them with the original style of tire, you would see a slight drop in mileage because the new tires have more tread (and more rolling resistance). You installed new tires...but you also changed to tires that were not low rolling resistance.