Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Newbie Questions!

Country
    United States
    Thanks

Talking Newbie Questions!

Hi hi,

I've recently become one of the cool Mirage owners I haven't owned a car in over 10 years, never had one with a CVT, and I'm not a very mechanical person. I have some questions that might be silly or have been asked before (if so, my apologies). Thanks for all your help!

1 - When looking for an auto shop for service and repairs, do I need to find one that specializes in CVTs or that's not really a thing?

2 - Anything important I need to know about CVT?

3 - I see people on here mention rpm a lot. Do I need to pay attention to my rpm? I don't understand the significance of it.

4 - On my Mirage, I don't see the temperature gauge/meter to watch out for overheating?

5 - My car seems to handle pretty smoothly on the road, but I notice when I'm maneuvering in and out of the tight parking spot in my apartment building, the steering wheel seems stiffer to turn vs on the road, not sure if that's normal? Also, the engine noise seems a lot louder vs on the road, but it could be because of the acoustic in the parking garage.

6 - When I brake, it isn't a smooth stop even when I press lightly. There's a little bit of a jerk, not strong, but it's there every time or almost every time. Is that normal for this car?

7 - Couple times when I was at a stop and kept a hard foot on the brake, there's this noise like something grinding (not sure if that's the best description, I don't really know how to say it). Only happened twice so far and when I changed my foot pressure, the noise stopped. Not sure if that's normal?

8 - Mine is a 2015. Does it come with hill assist? If yes, I don't see it anywhere.

9 - Is B mode encouraged to use going up and down hill? I tried it going down hill and liked the feature, but just want to make sure it doesn't cause damage to the car.