Thread: Key ignition on CVT

Country
    Belgium
    Garage empty: add car
    Thanks

Key ignition on CVT

Hello,
    I know this is basic but I am a beginner. I have two questions on how to properly turn the key to start a Mirage ES (Invite) CVT, 1.2

1/ I heard that we must turn the key to "ON" (second) position, then wait a couple seconds before turning to « Start » (third) position. This lets fuel gets to the motor and gets under pressure as it needs since every car is now fuel injected. Also results in a smoother start. Just turn the key all the way to « Start» position will result in fouled spark plugs which will require a replacement of the starter sooner than it should be.
    Is it correct and do you do like this too ?

2/ I heard when turning the key to «Start» position, you must release the key rigth after the engine starts. If you hold on «Start» too long it can damage the spark plug. Therefore I am scared of turning the key too hard making me sometimes release it too soon and the engine won't start.
    Any tips on the correct way to do it?
    Thank you.

Last edited by Charlot; 12-16-2020 at 06:14 PM.

Country
    United States
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,562 Times in 1,120 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlot View Post
    Hello,
    I know this is basic but I am a beginner. I have two questions on how to properly turn the key to start a Mirage ES (Invite) CVT, 1.2

1/ I heard that we must turn the key to "ON" (second) position, then wait a couple seconds before turning to « start » position. This lets fuel gets to the motor and gets under pressure as it needs since every car is now fuel injected. Also results in a smoother start. Just turn the key all the way to « Start» (third) position will result in fouled spark plugs which will require a replacement of the starter sooner than it should be.
    Is it correct and do you do like this too ?