Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: electrical system upgrade

Country
    United States
    Thanks

electrical system upgrade

Has anyone else considered replacing the low output alternator?
    I want to replace mine or have it rebuilt to put out 120+ amps, doing this I would upgrade the battery as well along with the battery cables to flow the extra juice.

I want to do a stereo upgrade with amplifiers, but I'm afraid the factory alternator would not support it.

Thoughts?...........

I also want to do the remote start (I know I have a manual transmission.....so what)

-Billy

click to view fuel log View my fuel log 2014 Mirage DE 1.2 manual: 37.6 mpg (US) ... 16.0 km/L ... 6.2 L/100 km ... 45.2 mpg (Imp)

Country
    United States
    Thanks
    I'm no electrician/mechanic/engineer, but I suppose they put that tiny alternator in there for a reason. It may sound stupid, but a bigger alternator might pull more power from the 70hp engine?

If you were going to put a subwoofer (I implied as you said amplifiers, meaning one for highs and one for lows) the extra weight of the sub and the amps will hurt your performance too.

I'm not trying to be a downer as I'm in the same predicament. I currently have a 1kwatt system. No idea how I'll make it work for the mirage.

Country
    United States
    Thanks
    Im Curious to the remote start with manual. You would have to over ride the clutch sensor, or use something to prop the clutch down to engage the ignition...

My brain is now spinning lol. If you can find a way, I would really like to know so I can do it my self!

Country
    United States
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,804 Times in 1,017 Posts
    A bigger alternator is doable I'm sure. I don't know anything that might drop right in though. Do you know the rating of the OEM alternator?

Alternators only generate the power as it is needed. When you aren't running a ton of stuff, they don't pull as much power from the engine.