Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: CVT oil analysis.

Country
    Canada
    Thanks

Post CVT oil analysis.

Hello all,

I preformed a CVT oil analysis on my car. A photo of which ive attached below, this is my first time doing something like this so ive attached some fun-facts in a list below:

1. when i removed the pan, there was no gasket. Not even a gasket making sealer or adhesive or anything. Just straight metal on metal pan to transmission. I never noticed it leak, maybe the gasket is unnecessary. Its unclear to me if this has ever had a CVT fluid change before so i asked the lab and there response is in the photo.

2. the pan gasket I bought was metallic it would stick to magnets. i wasn't expecting this

3. I had only minor issues changing the aux filter without removing anything but the driver-side tire. I could visually see it for the most part but I got stuck up on trying to get the weird metal tab around the electrical connector. Took me awhile to figure this out.

4. I wish we had one of those tubes instead of a drain plug to ensure I put back in the correct level of fluid(like the corolla). I put in 4 quarts + 20 OZ or 4.35L into the transmission after changing both filters. Its unclear to me if this is the correct fluid level or not. when hot it appears to go up to the first bend of the dipstick after following all instructions and checking it while running. The fluids hard to read as it is thin but also im also unsure how level my parking spot is.

5. the first time i drove it 100ft straight then going up a slight incline it made a very loud sqeak for about a second like the belt was slipping. I thought the transmission was gone then and there but all is well.

6. the first time i drove it "fast" there was a big shudder shifting from first gear to second