Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Steering wheel noise when turning it to a certain degree

Country
    Philippines
    Thanks

Steering wheel noise when turning it to a certain degree

Hello!

I recently noticed that my steering wheel does a faint "tok" sound when turning it to the left up to a certain degree. It's somewhere between 90 to 180 degrees. Doing a full turn either left or right seems fine.

Here's a video:
    https://drive.google.com/file/d/1jf6...CgF0Z1Ghz/view

The video makes the "tok" sound quite loud but in reality it's not that loud.

Also, I'm quite sure that it's not from a CV joint. It's coming from inside. Perhaps the steering wheel column.

Anyone here who experiences the same issue?

If anyone can test theirs, that would be great! Thank you!

Country
    United States
    Thanks
    When I worked as a mechanic I fixed a similar issue on Kia/Hyundai cars often. A rubber bushing in the electric assist motor on the steering column would wear out. Not sure if this is the same issue but our cars do have a very similar setup. Never taken a Mitsubishi column apart or if the part is available anywhere. If you Google "flexible steering coupler" you'll see the part I'm talking about. But it was a $6 part and about an hour labor to drop the column, pull off the electric motor, fish out what's left of the old bushing and install the new one.

Country
    Philippines
    Thanks
    Did a bit of a survey regarding this issue. It seems to be a common issue to some attrage and owners in other forums.

I also found this post from timbo350: https://mirageforum.com/forum/showth...ce-Star-so-far

I just don't know the correct fix for this yet. Some say you just need to add grease to the shaft inside the steering wheel cover.

Country
    Philippines
    Garage empty: add car
    Thanks
    Any update on this?. I also have the same issue.

Country
    Philippines
    Thanks