Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Worn winter tires in front or rear?

Country
    Canada
    Thanks

Worn winter tires in front or rear?

So my car came with a set of winter tires. Two are in very good shape, while two seem to be worn more. I'd say they have another winter or two of driving left in them. I'm curious about where the more worn ones should go. Right now they're in the front to help with traction as this is a front wheel drive car. But a guy at school said his tire guy says to put the worn ones up front and the better one in the back to avoid the rear of the car losing grip?

What do you guys do? Right now the front makes sense to me, but it isn't a big deal to switch either, changing tires on this car is pretty darn easy. I think the jack almost tipped it over.

Country
    Canada
    Thanks
    I would keep the newer ones up front myself. I'm no expert but seems to be what people do. I dunno I haven't had my rear spin out as much as need traction up front when the weather gets bad.

click to view fuel log View my fuel log 2014 Mirage ES 1.2 manual: 42.2 mpg (US) ... 17.9 km/L ... 5.6 L/100 km ... 50.7 mpg (Imp)

3. The Following User Says Thank You to dspace9 For This Useful Post:

Cam123 (10-25-2021)

Country
    Canada
    Thanks
    New or the best tires should always go on the rear of the car. If the front of the car starts to slide, you can counteract because you can steer the front wheels. If the back of the car starts to slide, it steers you, & that rarely ends well
    https://www.tirebuyer.com/education/...-front-or-back
    I didn't know what to do, so I didn't do anything

click to view fuel log View my fuel log 2018 Mirage GT 1.2 automatic: 37.3 mpg (US) ... 15.9 km/L ... 6.3 L/100 km ... 44.8 mpg (Imp)

5. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to klroger For This Useful Post:

Cam123 (10-25-2021),mohammad (10-29-2021)

Country
    United States
    Thanks