Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New to the forum. Have exhaust manifold question

Country
    United States
    Thanks

New to the forum. Have exhaust manifold question

Does anyone know if there is a specific tightening sequence for the exhaust manifold for a 2018 model Mirage G4 and if there is what the tightening sequence is?

Country
    United States
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,431 Times in 1,037 Posts
    Fidget - Until someone comes with an actual sequence spec'd by the factory (engineers), I will tell you the sequence I would use, not having access to factory info. My background is in automotive engineering, and I have worked on these specific kind of issues in automotive and my current engineering segment.

I would work from inside out. Meaning, start on the center exhaust port. I don't know, but I'm assuming there are 2 fasteners per port. On on the left or left-ish, and one on the right or right-ish of each port.

From looking at the exhaust manifold, let's number the fasteners from left (passenger) to right (driver) side. 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, and 6.

The tightening sequence would be something like this: 3, 5, 2, 4, 6, and 1. Do that to finger tight. Repeat the pattern to about half-torque spec. Then repeat it again to torque spec.

All this may vary if the number of fasteners are other than 6. In any event, do it in a similar way as I mentioned (from inside to outer) and I think you'll be fine.

click to view fuel log View my fuel log 2020 Mirage ES 1.2 manual: 42.4 mpg (US) ... 18.0 km/L ... 5.5 L/100 km ... 51.0 mpg (Imp)

3. The Following User Says Thank You to 7milesout For This Useful Post:

mohammad (04-28-2022)

Country
    United States
    Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by 7milesout View Post