Thread: How does Mirage 5MT acceleration compare to 94 Geo Metro 5MT?

Banned
    Country
    Canada
    Garage empty: add car
    Thanks

How does Mirage 5MT acceleration compare to 94 Geo Metro 5MT?

The Mirage compares very favourably to my old 94 Geo Metro in terms of MPGs but I'm curious about how it does in terms of acceleration. I've been searching everywhere for the acceleration specs on the 94 Metro but can only find the automatic specs. Does anyone know how these two 5 speed manuals compared?

Ps. The reason I ask is that, subjectively, the Metro seemed to have quite a bit more "pep" than the current Mirage but, admittedly, I always pushed it hard.

Banned
    Country
    Canada
    Thanks

Ps

I know my question might seem irrelevant but when my insurance company wrote off the 94 Metro I had been driving for 20 years I was VERY upset. I was upset because I only require two things from a car:
    1) that it get me consistently and reliably from point A to point B dry and warm
    2) that it do the above with the absolute least impact on the environment

I had watched the car market for years and was appalled that, instead of taking the lead set by the Metro in providing a virtually perfect city runabout, the market had moved further and further away from practicality and more and more towards excess and the frivolous. My Metro had served my purposes perfectly and I was loath to go out and buy a new car which would cost more, pollute more and give me nothing more of anything I deemed to be of significant value.

Then I discovered the Mirage and, while I am thrilled that it is every bit as green as my Metro, I did have to spend another $10,000 (above and beyond my insurance settlement) to merely match what I already had with the Metro in the first place. It has taken a little bit of the sting out of the experience to realize that the luxuries I had felt were unnecessary are turning out to make the driving experience a least a little more enjoyable.
    i.e.