Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ex-tenant help?

Where's the leak ma'am? Marklovski's Avatar
    Country
    United States
    Thanks

Ex-tenant help?

I moved out and they're trying to charge me $1400 for doors. I lived there over 8 years and the doors are probably 20 years old. There were some scuffs (parts ripped off the door) and scratches even before I moved in. They're trying to get me to replace all the doors with brand new ones.

Edit: BTW there was no holes in the doors, structural damage or any pealing

I thought maybe I would get charged for 2 that I put command tape of but they're replacing all of them. The rest had no series damage at all!

Any help for small claims court? I'm an accountant and already tried explaining the useful life of assets. They told me stuff doesn't have a useful life. They wanted a brand new front door because they said the paint color is discontinued......but Lowes and Home Depot can make any color paint you want with their computer scan system.

I'm trying to figure out how to formulate my defense. I have never been to court before.

Fuel Log: Good enough
    Instagram: @zoras_sapphire

Country
    Canada
    Thanks
    Do you have an incoming inspection report?

How about any photos close to when you moved in that could be compared to now?

Do you have an animal or anything else that could have damaged the doors? Robo vac, etc.
    Zero, 2014 ES Plus 5MT, written off but not forgotten.
    Zero II, 2014 SE, 5MT, climate She's HOME now!
    Shelby AKA "Cute", 2017 ES 5MT, A/C.

Mirage owners look at the world differently than everyone else, but in a better way
    We're driving the Beetle of the 21st century, the greatest small car now available!

click to view fuel log View my fuel log 2017 Mirage ES PLus 1.2 manual: 39.0 mpg (US) ... 16.6 km/L ... 6.0 L/100 km ... 46.8 mpg (Imp)

Country
    United States
    Thanks